Monday, December 31, 2012

Disappointed at SumoSam @ SM North The Block

We had dinner at SumoSam in The Block last Friday. Before that, we had only dined at Sumo Sam once, at Trinoma. All I remembered of that visit were the huge ("sumo") servings of ramen and the higher-than-expected prices.

Back to The Block branch. The first thing that made an impression on me upon entering the restaurant were the flies. There were two or three of them buzzing by the table we were about to sit at. They were a turnoff. Bf and I thought of leaving and eating elsewhere, but we felt shy because a staff member was already assisting us and that particular table was far from the exit. Later on, bf would comment about this. He joked that the flies were trying to warn us to get out; we just didn't listen.

We ordered two gyoza soups, a plate of tuna sushi, beef curry plate, watermelon shake, and bottomless iced tea.

Bf hated the beef curry plate since he felt nauseous after eating it. I ate 1/3 of the beef curry and while I'm not a big fan of curry, I didn't think anything was wrong with it. Perhaps it just reacted with the cold and cough medication bf took before dinner. I found the sushi enjoyable and the gyoza soup okay. In short, I'm not complaining about the taste of the food, but the service left much to be desired.

Saturday, December 22, 2012

The Bola-Bola Siopao I Got from Chowking was a Mutant

My companion brought home four regular bola-bola siopao from Chowking Araneta Square (Monumento) last night. After we consumed three, I took out the last one from the plastic bag. It felt weird.

On the outside, the siopao looked like your typical, innocent meat bun.

Chowking Bola-Bola Siopao

But it was just a wolf in sheep's clothing.

Ta-da!

A cup of steamed rice posing as a siopao. Shame on you!

extra rice wrapped in Chowking Bola-Bola Siopao wrapper
this extra rice is nothing but a second-rate, trying-hard copycat!

*facepalm*


Thursday, December 20, 2012

The Prawn Farm Grill & Seafoods in Island City Mall

After resting in our room in Vest Pension House in Bohol, my companions and I decided to check out Island City Mall and to grab a late lunch. Going to the mall was easy; we just had to flag down a passing tricycle near Vest's entrance. Fare was P40.

If I'm not mistaken, Island City Mall is the biggest mall in Bohol. From what I saw when we were there, most of the food joints in the mall were the typical restaurant chains you see in Manila. I wanted to try a new restaurant, as going all the way to Bohol then eating in the usual restos seemed lame. There were some food court stalls that sold Boholano food, but since the whole vacation thing was our treat to our senior companions, I wanted a food place that was a little more formal. If we had more time, we could have been more adventurous and tried non-mall restaurants to get a taste of authentic Boholano food while enjoying the view. As it was, we had to make the most out of our situation.

Thankfully, when I craned my neck, I caught sight of The Prawn Farm Grill and Seafoods in the upper floor. Prawn (or shrimp) is a magic word for me, so bingo!

Prawn Farm did not disappoint. I wish they had a branch near our place here in Manila.


Taste

We ordered the following: Pochero, Lechon Kawali, Pancit Sotanghon, Shrimp Balls of Fire, Pork Sizzling Sisig, and Buco Shake.

Pochero Visayas ala Bulalo at The Prawn Farm Grill and Seafoods

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Bohol Tour via Vest Pension House / Paul Julapong

Upon arrival at Vest Pension House, I arranged our Bohol countryside tour. According to Vest's Web site, the tour costs P3000 if via car, P3500 if via van. I paid P3000 since there were only 4 of us and we would fit in a car, but it was a van that serviced us the next day, so we were much more comfortable during the tour. The entrance fees and other miscellaneous fees were paid directly upon arrival at the different tourist spots.

The countryside tour would last for 9 hours (7am-4pm). We were advised by the Vest receptionist to call the front desk at 6am to have our breakfast prepared early. The following morning after breakfast, our tour operator arrived and we were off to see the sites.

From Vest Pension House, it took about an hour of traffic-free ride before we began seeing Chocolate Hills. The Hills looked magnificent when viewed on a high area, but driving close to individual mounds was exhilarating.

The tour's destinations:

1. Sagbayan Peak
Here you can have your pictures taken with a T. Rex dinosaur, Ironman, and several Disney characters. You also get a good view of the surrounding area, including the Chocolate Hills.
Entrance fee: P30/pax

Sagbayan Peak in Bohol, Philippines
Sagbayan Peak in Bohol, Philippines


Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Travel Accommodations: Vest Pension House in Tagbilaran, Bohol

In our recent trip to Bohol, we stayed at Vest Pension House. There were four of us (all adults) so I chose a family room. I booked and paid for our room via Agoda. The rate for the room was P2500/night. The bill, including taxes and service fees, (with a P350 discount courtesy of my BPI credit card) for our 3 days/2 nights stay amounted to P5,249.79 (USD 127.42).

Vest Pension House in Bohol

Why I chose Vest

Vest had a high score (8/10) and more than 200 positive reviews in Agoda. I also liked the hotel's booking conditions: Free cancellation. Any cancellation received within 1 day prior to arrival will incur the first night's charge. (Note: The booking conditions stated were for the family room available during the dates of our trip, booked through Agoda. The conditions may differ if you book other rooms or through other methods.) In contrast, the other hotel we were considering had penalties if you cancel within 21 days of your arrival. We scheduled our trip near the end of November to avoid the rainy season, but knowing our country, we sometimes get heavy rain and storms even late in the year. Besides, we were traveling with senior citizens, so an easy cancellation or booking changes in case of typhoons or other emergencies felt reassuring.

Another thing that made me choose Vest was that their tour packages (destinations and prices) were already posted at their Web site. As someone who spends a lot of time in front of the computer, I prefer to do transactions online. As such, I dislike having to contact a merchant or establishment just to have detailed information about their product or service. I especially dislike having to ask for something basic such as prices. I prefer to have access to all important information and to be able to form an informed decision with as minimal contact with another human being as possible. Not the best of traits, I know, but that's how I roll.


Friday, November 30, 2012

Ramen X (Trinoma)

I've heard positive things about Ramen X so when we were in Trinoma a few weeks ago, we decided to dine there.

Ramen X Trinoma Mall branch


Taste

We ordered their Gyuniku Ramen, Yoshi's Ramen, Ebi Tempura, Green Apple Float, and Blueberry Fruit Tea.

Gyuniku ramen is a soy-based ramen with sliced beef. Yoshi's ramen is a soy-based roast pork ramen with pork belly slices. The noodles served to us were a bit half-cooked. Not really bothersome, but noticeable. I'm not sure if that's how Ramen X does their noodles or if the cook just took the noodles off the stove a few minutes too soon. Probably the latter.

gyuniku ramen (soy-based ramen with sliced beef)
Gyuniku Ramen - P189

Monday, November 19, 2012

Saint's Alp Teahouse (Katipunan, Quezon City)

We tried Saint's Alp Teahouse last month. It is a Taiwanese-style teahouse located in Katipunan, just across Ateneo. There were a lot of people that Saturday night. Most of them looked like students and yuppies, which was not surprising due to Saint's Alp's proximity to Ateneo and Miriam.

Saint's Alp Katipunan Entrance


Taste

It was our first time to try Saint's Alp. I was happy to see that this teahouse served not just beverages but also heavier items like rice meals and noodle soups. In the past, I had found myself in coffee shops, hungry and unsatisfied that my only options for solid food were cakes and pastries. Not a problem in Saint's Alp. Good.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Another Batch of Poor Service Incidents with LBC

I went to LBC in Araneta Square Monumento last Sunday morning. There was a long line of customers so I did some other errands first. When I got back, the line was still long and was not moving. Several people arrived after I did and the line got longer. There was only one LBC staff attending to the customers and for some weird reason, she was taking a long long time doing whatever she was doing. It took around 25 minutes for her to be finished with two customers. The girl in front of me ran out of patience and walked out. The guy behind me was muttering angrily to himself. I could consider myself lucky that none of the people in front of me was there to send packages since packages take longer to be processed (they have to be examined, packed, labeled). I had no idea why the LBC girl took ages to process remittances.

After around 25 minutes since my arrival, a male LBC staff arrived and things finally got moving quickly. I reached the counter five minutes after that guy came in.

I've been to a dozen LBC branches around Metro Manila for at least 50 times and last Sunday was the second worst/slowest service I got from an LBC branch. The worst one was in the Metro Point Mall branch, where customers were on the verge of rioting. I emerged from that branch a bit homicidal, 40 minutes after I entered. A lone female LBC staff was on duty that time too. I wonder if it's the same girl.


Monday, November 5, 2012

Candy Crush Saga is a very addictive Facebook game

I am one of more than five million people currently addicted to a casual game called Candy Crush Saga. It is a single-player puzzle game, a match-3 game to be exact. According to Inside Social Games, as of November 2012, Candy Crush is the No. 4 Facebook game (and top King.com game) in terms of daily active users.

Candy Crush Saga Facebook page


Mechanics of the game:

Candy Crush Saga currently has more than 200 levels and more levels can be expected since many players have already reached the highest level and are clamoring for new ones.

The gameboard shows the different levels. A player can play his current level or replay previous ones. He must complete the level before he can proceed to the next one. At the start of the game, he has five lives. Whenever he fails, he loses one life. Lives are regenerated one life per 30 minutes

Candy Crush Saga board
Candy Crush Saga puzzle level 134


Sunday, October 28, 2012

Clara Ole Orange Marmalade (Regular and Sugar-Free)

Several weeks ago, I was craving for pineapple jam. When I got to the supermarket, I was a bit overwhelmed with the choices though. There were several brands and flavors of jams, jellies, and marmalades. I came there set to buy pineapple jam, but all the other similar products seemed yummy too. I think I spent more time standing in front of those bottled delights, trying to choose one, than thinking about the meaning of life.

It was a hard choice, but eventually I decided on Clara Ole Orange Marmalade because I realized that I hadn't tried eating marmalade before -- it had always been jam or jelly. (In case you're confused about their difference, jelly is made from the fruit's juice, jam from both flesh and juice, and marmalade includes fruit peels.) Clara Ole was the least expensive brand I saw that day, so I chose it.

Clara Ole orange marmalade

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Piadina Italian Restaurant (Robinson's Ermita)

Right after buying breads at Dough Joe, we headed to Piadina Italian Restaurant to redeem our Ensogo voucher. Piadina is a small Italian resto on the second level of Robinson's Ermita.

Taste

We ordered the Cotoletta di Pollo Trio and the Rimini Mare. Both dishes are served with a bowl of the resto's soup of the day and a glass of iced tea. The soup of the day for that day was broccoli soup. Bf also ordered a separate bowl of Minestrone.

broccoli soup
Broccoli Soup (soup of the day) - P75
minestrone soup
Minestrone - P100
The broccoli soup is hearty and creamy. The minestrone is served with three slices of piadina. It is chunkier than others we have tried and includes a generous amount of eggplant, tomatoes, raisins, onion, and bell pepper.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Movie Review: Green Guys (2011)

Green Guys is an indie crime drama/thriller released last year. It won the Silver Ace Award at the 2012 Las Vegas International Film Festival.

Synopsis:
Travis Howard, Andrew Thomas, Billy Adams, and Levi Charles are four young men running an investment scam (Ponzi scheme). They decide to victimize the biggest Mexican drug lord, Tan'el Garcia, who, unknown to them, is being monitored by the FBI. Their meeting with Garcia attracts the attention of FBI agent Mike Northcutt. Northcutt offers Billy immunity if he cooperates with the FBI and gives information about their scam. As problems begin to surface, the four main characters are slowly torn apart. Will they take their white collar crime into something more serious, like murder?

Main Cast:
Kris Lemche - Travis Howard
David J. Phillips - Andrew Thomas
Christopher Redman - Billy Adams
Darrel Davenport - Levi Charles
Nathan Marlow - Mike Northcutt
Roberto 'Sanz' Sanchez - Tan'el Garcia

Director: Cole Mueller

Trailer:


Review:
Green Guys is a relatively obscure film since it was released straight-to-DVD last year. Its IMDB rating boggles me -- when I came across a DVD copy of this film a few months ago, I remember looking it up at IMDB and seeing a 7.+ rating. Now, its rating is only 4.0.

Don't let the low rating discourage you, though. It's a decent film. There are no A-list Hollywood stars in it, no fancy stunts or CGI but the story is engaging and the actors are good.

Friday, October 5, 2012

Dough Joe Bake House (Robinson's Ermita)

We were on our way to a dinner reservation at Robinson's Ermita when we chanced upon people milling about an open display featuring fresh breads. At first I thought the bread store was Breadtalk because, hey, breads surrounded by people wielding trays and tongs. (I really love Breadtalk but I am actively avoiding it since I always go crazy there and come out several hundred bucks poorer.) Then we realized that it was a different store called Dough Joe. The name was new to us and we didn't notice this bread shop during our previous, albeit infrequent, visits to Robinson's Ermita.


Bf was grinning, about to get a tray, but I discouraged him. We are both getting plump and need to slim down; besides, we were already just a few minutes away from eating dinner.

Then we saw the sign advertising the breads as 50% off.

Screw the diet. Screw the weight loss. Breads, come to mama!


Friday, September 28, 2012

Johnny English (2003) vs Johnny English Reborn (2011)

When Johnny English was released in the Philippines almost a decade ago, Rowan Atkinson was, for all intents and purposes, "Mr. Bean", the hilariously eccentric British guy who doesn't speak. Seeing Atkinson in a speaking role and a new persona was a refreshing thing.

I really enjoyed the first Johnny English movie. I liked it so much that I gave it a 10 star rating in IMDB. I actually found it funnier than the first Mr. Bean movie and for years I wondered why the moviemakers were not making a sequel.

Johnny English poster

When news of a sequel came out, I was excited, but after watching the sequel Johnny English Reborn, the excitement quickly turned to disappointment.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Ramon Bautista Stars in Nivea for Men's #LikeaPogi Campaign

I'm really liking Nivea for Men's #LikeaPogi campaign. It stars Hapontukin funny guy Ramon Bautista.

Ramon Bautista for Nivea for Men's #LikeaPogi campaign

I think Nivea made a really good move in choosing him as their new endorser instead of the usual conventionally handsome actors. Aside from not having sky-high TF requirements (I'm just assuming this), Ramon Bautista is a sort of a cult hero. His wit and talent as a comedian, filmmaker, producer and UP film professor give him an air of credibility and give his endorsement more weight compared to some boneheaded pretty face. He looks really Pinoy, not the tisoy or chinito type you see in a lot of ads, and he's not overly handsome and is therefore easier to relate to. At the same time, with Ramon Bautista as the endorser, Nivea is not bastardizing the meaning of the word "pogi". If Nivea chose a smelly-looking ugly guy, the result would have been patronizing. But Ramon Bautista is neat, cute in his own way, and in good shape. The implication is that for you to be truly "pogi", you also have to take care of your body and your health and not just rely on the good old "inner beauty".

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Gyu Gohan's Sesame Pork was a Big Fat Joke!

My good friend Badet and her hubby Jeff went to 168 last week and tried Gyu Gohan, a food outlet that serves sizzling food ala Pepper Lunch but at lower prices. You can read Badet's post about it here.

Her post got me curious so when bf and I went to 168 yesterday, I wanted to try Gyu Gohan. Since I would be ordering only one dish (bf wanted noodles from another establishment) and Badet had just reviewed the place, I decided to not review Gyu Gohan or bother taking photos.

But the dismal quality of the food I got made me change my mind about writing a review. Still too dumb to take pictures though.

I ordered Sesame Pork (P79). I don't have any pictures but you can check Badet's post to see what it was supposed to look like.

When I got my food, I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me. The pork strips looked all-white. Did they just serve me nothing but fat? I thought, but I second-guessed myself since what resto would serve their customers fat strips to go with their rice?

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Ambeth Ocampo's "Fernando Amorsolo" Lecture

Yes, another Ambeth Ocampo post.

This time, it's about the Philippine's first National Artist Fernando Amorsolo in Ambeth's lecture titled "Fernando Amorsolo: Portrait of the Artist as Historian".

Fernando Amorsolo: Portrait of the Artist as Historian lecture by Ambeth Ocampo

I have to admit, I only know Amorsolo by name. I did not know much else about him, but after the lecture, I had a newfound respect for his talent.

Monday, September 10, 2012

Singing Lessons with Jeanne Velasco-Vicars of Showstoppers

Last January, Dealspot sold vouchers for singing lessons at Showstoppers Center for Music and Arts. The lessons would be handled by Ms. Jeanne Velasco-Vicars and the technique she would be using was called vocal sound management. According to the description, vocal sound management can correct vocal faults and effect vocal adjustment in the shortest possible time. So with this technique, the student can expect to learn to sing in tune, prevent getting hoarse, increase vocal range and volume, improve enunciation, enhance vocal expression, and clean up his sound.


The teacher, Ms. Vicars, is the voice coach of several celebrities such as Katryn Bernardo, Jennelyn Mercado, Sarah Geronimo, and Isabella de Leon. The office was located in Delta in Quezon City and the rate was P750 per hour per student (regular rate), P375 through the Dealspot promo. I texted Ms. Vicars to confirm if the lessons would be one-on-one and she said yes. I bought six vouchers -- three for me, three for bf. Our first lesson was done in the Delta office, the second after they moved to Timog (in the unit where Ms. Vicars also lives) due to rising rental cost in the previous office.

Bf and I both love music but we're not the singing type. We don't even like contemporary pop and Rn'B. We don't have any ambition to sing professionally. Although they're undeniably great singers, I don't dream of singing ala Charice or Regine Velasquez (my singing idols are more like Chris Cornell and Sebastian Bach, even if they're of the wrong gender). Anyway, my goal was pretty simple: I want to sing in tune. And of course, our overall goal: to try new stuff.

So how did things go? Well, both good and bad.

Friday, September 7, 2012

Ambeth Ocampo's "Before the Japayuki: Japan in Philippine History" Lecture

Many Filipinos are familiar with the Japanese culture. We watch tons of anime and eat lots of Japanese food. However, when it comes to the intersection of the Japanese history and our own, many Pinoys are limited to talking about World War II or some girl they know who became a Japayuki (a term which originally referred to Filipinas who went to Japan to be cultural entertainers but later came to refer to Filipinas who went there to prostitute themselves).

Ambeth Ocampo Before the Japayuki poster

In Ambeth Ocampo's recent lecture titled "Before the Japayuki: Japan in Philippine History", I learned about the karayuki-san. They were poor Japanese girls who went to East Asia and Southeast Asia (including the Philippines) to work as prostitutes during the 1800s. According to a Japanese sociology blog, many of these girls did not really set out to sell their bodies, but were made to believe by mediators that there were many good working opportunities in other countries and that they could make enough money to support their families. Heavily indebted to the mediators for transporting them out of Japan and not knowing the language of their destination countries, they were forced to work as prostitutes to pay off their debts and to be able to send money to their families.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Book: The Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe

The Bonfire of the Vanities is a book published in 1987 by Tom Wolfe. It was a big success in the 1980s but I was too young to remember or care about it then. I finally got to read the book and now understand why it became famous.

There are some funny scenes but overall, the story is a drama which touches upon ego, racism, social classes, politics, and the media. 

Synopsis:

Sherman McCoy, a married hotshot bond trader in a prestigious Wall Street firm, is having an affair with Maria. One night, Sherman and Maria get lost in the Bronx. The road is blocked and two young black men approach them to help. They feel threatened and Sherman attacks one of the men while Maria takes the wheel. As they are leaving the area, Maria may have hit the other black guy unintentionally. Sherman feels guilty but Maria convinces him not to report the incident. Things get complicated when suddenly a black youth ends up in coma, apparently hit by a car driven by a white person. A black activist-religious leader persuades Peter Fallow -- an alcoholic British tabloid journalist -- to write a series of articles that fuels protests and media coverage about the hit-and-run victim. Larry Kramer, an assistant defense attorney suffering from an early midlife crisis, seeks out the guilty driver while the DA monitors the case with his upcoming reelection in mind.

Saturday, September 1, 2012

White Knight e-Chariot Tours in Intramuros

One item on my bucket list is to ride a Segway, so when I found out about the White Knight electric chariot tours in Intramuros, I was thrilled. The tour is provided by White Knight Hotel Intramuros which is in Plaza San Luis (same complex where Barbara's Restaurant is located).

On the way to the tour, it suddenly rained and since we were scheduled at the last tour of the day, I was worried that our tour would be rescheduled. When we arrived at White Knight though, thankfully, the rain had stopped. The skies were still cloudy and there was a slight drizzle during our tour but the light rain was manageable and White Knight was equipped to handle that.

Aside from the tour fees, there is a P100 insurance fee for each person and you will also have to sign a waiver. Small sling bags are allowed but since the e-chariots are controlled by the rider balancing his weight, heavy bags have to be left at the White Knight Hotel's front desk.

White Knight e-chariots tours in Intramuros
geared up and ready to go

Saturday, August 25, 2012

go-en The Japanese Ramen Shoppe Plus (Part 2)

After several weeks, we went back to go-en The Japanese Ramen Shoppe plus to check out what was new. I was happy to see they now have more food offerings and have also rolled out their lunch specials. I thought of updating my previous blog post but since it was already long, I decided to just do a part 2 for go-en.

Like in our first visit, the place is still clean and quiet. The people are still friendly and chatty. When we arrived, Carol (the owner's friend who also manages the resto) was lively chatting with a customer.  (In case you're in an asocial or grumpy mood coming in, better give them a heads up).



We tried four more of their dishes: the Eihirei, Kara Miso Ramen, Tsukumen Ramen, and Okonomiyaki.


Friday, August 17, 2012

McCormick Buffalo Wings Seasoning Mix (Screamer)

I've already blogged about my buffalo wing escapades at Wingman, Buffalo Wild Wings, Buffalo's Wings N' Things, and BC Burgers and Chix, so it's no secret that I love buffalo wings. Who doesn't, anyway?

I recently tried McCormick's Buffalo Wings Seasoning Mix for some chicken lovin' at home. There are four mix flavors - Classic, Barbecue, Teriyaki, and the hot one McCormick dubbed as Screamer. Among the four, the Screamer appealed to me the most so that was what I bought.

McCormick Buffalo Wings Seasoning Mix (Screamer Flavor)


Monday, August 13, 2012

Binggrae a Cafe La Vanilla Latte (Korean Ready to Drink Coffee)

Whenever I go to Hi-Top Supermarket in Quezon Avenue, I always rummage through their sale items. Most of those items are 50% off their regular prices. During my last visit, this bottled coffee attracted my attention.

Binggrae Premium Coffee a cafe la acafela vanilla latte
Binggrae a Cafe La Vanilla Latte

For a coffee product, it has a very cheesy name (a Cafe La? Really? Come on!) but the packaging is very cute. It's a Korean product by the way. I admit, I don't like Korean food much, but this one's coffee and half-priced, so I got one bottle to try.

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Comprehensive List of Groups Accepting Donations and Volunteers for Calamity Victims in the Philippines

I've compiled information about various groups and establishments that are accepting donations and/or looking for volunteers to help the victims of the heavy rains and flooding in the Philippines. For easier browsing of this long list, I've divided this post into two parts: those accepting 1) cash and check donations and 2) in-kind donations and/or calls for volunteers per area.

The big organizations on the list (e.g. Red Cross, GMA, ABS-CBN) accept donations all year round to help victims of various calamities and tragedies throughout the Philippines. If you're located outside the Philippines but want to help, you can do so by sending cash donations. Please do!


For cash and check donations:

PHILIPPINE NATIONAL RED CROSS


via SMS (cellphone load)
Text RED <space> AMOUNT to 2899 (Globe) or 4143 (Smart)
You can donate the following denominations:
Globe: 5, 25, 100, 300, 500 or 1000
Smart: 10, 25, 50, 100, 300, 500 or 1000

via GCASH
text DONATE AMOUNT 4-digit M-PIN REDCROSS to 2882.

via 7-Eleven or Cebuana Lhuillier

Cash donations for the Philippine Red Cross is accepted at any 7-11 store or Cebuana Lhuillier Pawnshop nationwide.

via Bank Deposit
Bank accounts for donations
Banco De Oro
Peso: 00-453-0018647
Dollar: 10-453-0039482
Swift Code: BNORPHMM

Metrobank
Peso: 151-3-041631228
Dollar: 151-2-15100218-2
Swift Code: MBTCPHMM

Philippine National Bank
Peso: 3752 8350 0034
Dollar: 3752 8350 0042
Swift Code: PNBMPHMM

Unionbank of the Philippines
Peso: 1015 4000 0201
Dollar: 1315 4000 0090
Swift Code: UBPHPHMM

For your donations to be properly acknowledged, please fax the bank transaction slip at nos. +63.2.527.0575 or +63.2.404.0979 with your name, address and contact number. Checks should be made payable to The Philippine Red Cross. We can also arrange for donation pick-up.

You can also donate through Paypal, Ushare, Online Banking, GreenPeso, Megalink, Bancnet, Multiply, and PayDollar by visiting this link.


Saturday, August 4, 2012

The Regulators by Richard Bachman (Stephen King)

The Regulators is a horror novel by Stephen King, written using his pseudonym Richard Bachman. The Bachman identity was "killed" by King in 1984 after the pseudonym was exposed but the introduction in The Regulators claims that Bachman wrote the book before he died and that the manuscript was just discovered by his widow. The Regulators and its mirror novel Desperation were both published in 1996 and represent parallel universes. One does not have to read Desperation to understand the story; the two books share a similar cast but are pretty much independent, even the characters' personalities are different.

The book is set in the fictional suburban town of Wentworth in Ohio, with some scenes occurring in another fictional place called Desperation, Nevada. Things are pretty normal until the arrival of a group of strange vehicles driven by equally strange-looking characters. The peaceful community suddenly becomes the target for violence, far from the reach of the police or even the military. In the midst of all these is an autistic boy who seems to be creating the cruel newcomers from his imagination, inspired by an old western movie named The Regulators and a set of popular toys called MotoKops 2200. Trapped in a neighborhood that is slowly changing into something straight out of a Western film and populated by mutant creatures, the residents must find a way to get out.


The Regulators is a love-it-or-hate-it book. If you go to Amazon, for example, you'll see that half of the reviews are from people who hate the book. I did not have high expectations with The Regulators but the book is much better than I expected. Stephen King is an iconic author but for me, his works are sometimes hit-or-miss (mostly hits like The Mist, The Shining, and Pet Sematary, but with some misses such as The Tommyknockers and Gerald's Game). To my delight, I found The Regulators hard to put down and I spent two nights reading it until dawn.

Some themes and characters echo those of other King stories, such as a quiet community being invaded by evil (Needful Things), people stuck in a certain place/dimension and having to band together to fight (The Mist, The Langoliers, Maximum Overdrive), a psychic child (The Shining, Firestarter), and the writer-hero (The Dark Half, Misery).

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Food for Thought: A Celebration of Good Taste Exhibit @ DLSU Manila

I was at the De La Salle University (DLSU) Manila yesterday afternoon to view the Food for Thought: A Celebration of Good Taste exhibit honoring the late author Doreen G. Fernandez. I had not been able to visit DLSU since I graduated yearsss ago and it was nice to finally see the university again. A lot of things have remained the same but a lot of things have also changed. Back when I was still studying here, the Yuchengco Hall was still non-existent and there were no turnstiles yet at the entrance.

Food for Thought: A Celebration of Good Taste exhibit honoring Doreen Fernandez at The Museum in De La Salle University Manila


Who is Doreen Fernandez?

Doreen Gamboa Fernandez (born Alicia Dorothea Gamboa) was born in Manila but grew up in Silay, Negros Occidental. She graduated Cum Laude from St. Scholastica's College in 1954 with a degree in English and History. She earned her M.A. in Literature (English) in 1956 from the Ateneo de Manila University and got her Ph.D. in Literature (English) in 1976, also from Ateneo. Doreen married architect and interior designer Wili Fernandez, who shared her passion for art and good food. She wrote many books about Philippine art, culture, and food and received praises and awards for her work as a writer and as a teacher. She passed away last June 24, 2002, surrounded by family and friends.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Event Alert: 21st National Retail Conference (NRCE) and Stores Asia Expo

Business stuff fascinate me. I've been an online entrepreneur since early 2009 and this blog is basically an account of my experiences with different retail businesses. In particular, I like reading about how individuals and companies started small and took their humble businesses to the next level. Another topic that I find interesting deals with branding -- how companies have made their products and services stand out from their competitors and how they attracted a loyal following. When it comes to improvements in the retail sector, I want to see better handling of customer complaints and more knowledgeable sales personnel and customer support staff. Anyway, if you're into business and marketing as well, there's an upcoming event that you might wanna check out: the 21st National Retail Conference (NRCE) and Stores Asia Expo.

21st National Retail Conference (NRCE) and Stores Asia Expo 2012


NRCE is the country's biggest retail industry event. Each year, the conference invites retail industry experts to cover important retailing topics. The 21st NRCE will be held on August 9 and 10 at the SMX Convention Center in Pasay City. Its twin event, the Stores Asia Expo, will showcase retail suppliers and service providers.


Disappointing Food at Mexicali SM North...Again!

Out of the five Mexicali branches I've tried, I only get problematic food at the SM North branch. Even when we experienced lousy service at the SM San Lazaro branch last Valentine's Day, at least the food was good.

At the SM North branch, I have twice gotten enchiladas where parts of the tortilla bottoms were cold and hard. The first instance could have been an honest mistake but the second one turned me off the SM North branch. I avoided this branch for a year or two.

Last week, since I hadn't eaten there for a long time, I thought that perhaps the restaurant had changed so I gave it another chance. I was wrong. Our server seemed a bit distracted and got two order details wrong but he was quick to correct them so we were okay with him. But the food! While the enchilada I ordered was good (even though the accompanying rice was a bit dry), the burrito and the chili bowl were a downer. I loved the chili in Mexicali Trinoma -- it was thick and tasty -- but the SM North version tasted bland and was thin that I had a hard time scooping up the sauce with the tortilla chips. Also, my cold tortilla problem just got transferred to the burrito. A big part of the tortilla was stiff. Very unappetizing. Just how does Mexicali SM North store and reheat their frozen tortillas anyway?



Mexicali Restaurant
4/F SM North - The Block
North Ave. cor EDSA
Quezon City, Metro Manila
Web site
Facebook page


Saturday, July 21, 2012

BC Burgers and Chix in Kapitolyo, Pasig

A few weeks ago, I received an email from Mr. John Chung, inviting us to try their new resto, BC Burgers and Chix. Before going, I had to confirm that they were open to constructive criticisms (if any). Truth be told, he had me at hello "our wings flavor are different, we have 11 flavors to choose from".

BC Burgers and Chix menu mascots
the ridiculously cute mascots - I hope to see more of these guys!

BC is located in Kapitolyo in Pasig, inside the Pioneer Centre compound. Upon getting off at Boni MRT station, one can take a tricycle ride to reach the place. BC shares the parking space with the other establishments in the compound but finding a slot is not a problem, even on a Saturday night. Hailing a cab afterwards is easy and there are also several tricycles parked near the entrance.


Wednesday, July 18, 2012

go-en The Japanese Ramen Shoppe

Last month, on the way to Buffalo's Wings N' Things, we passed by a Japanese restaurant named go-en. Bf, ever the big fan of soups and noodles, perked up. Since BWNT does not serve soups, bf was fidgety and wouldn't shut up about ramen. I was already full so I thought he was just kidding, but I was wrong. After finishing our food in BWNT, bf convinced me to accompany him to go-en (while silently hoping our co-diners in BWNT would not see us eating again).

Stepping inside go-en felt like going to another dimension. You see, go-en is located between Buffalo Wings N' Things and Moonleaf Tea Shop, both of which were busy and noisy that particular Saturday night. In go-en, however, it was really quiet, very zen. Later on, we learned that go-en was still on their soft opening as they opened only last May 5. We were the only diners that time so we got showered with attention.

Unlike other Japanese restos here in the Philippines, go-en is not spreading itself thinly, at least not yet. As their name implies, it is a ramen shoppe. They have non-ramen items but the selection is not that wide. We'll see if they'll add more non-ramen food offerings in the future.


Taste

Bf ordered the Shoyu Ramen and Ramune (Original Flavor). Originally, I was planning to only accompany bf since I was already stuffed full of buffalo wings and rice but the people at go-en were so nice, they gave us complimentary iced teas and anchovies with sesame seeds as appetizers, that I felt it would be rude not to order anything, so ordered their Japanese-style Potato Salad.

go-en The Japanese Ramen Shoppe appetizer anchovies with sesame seeds
complimentary appetizers

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Kopiko Kopiccino Instant Cappuccino

I'd been hearing good things about Kopiko's new cappuccino flavored instant coffee mix so we decided to try it. Several years ago, a coffee brand released an instant cappuccino mix that had no foam and just looked and tasted like a normal 3-in-1 coffee. I was disappointed that time and so I was a little worried that Kopiko's version would be the same. Fortunately, Kopiko Kopiccino has that froth I want.

Kopiko Kopiccino cappuccino instant coffee with granules


Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Upgrade Your Proactiv Kit and Get your Proactiv Add-on at 50%-60% Discount!

One thing nice about getting older is the tendency to get less pimples. I remember my younger years and how those annoying pimples would make me feel self-conscious. My friends had it worse and it was easy to see the effect on their self-esteem, especially during our early (kids can be quite vicious when it comes to teasing).

I've been hearing about Proactiv for quite some time now, but I've always associated it with celebrities and socialities. Looking around the Proactiv site, I was surprised to see testimonials not just from celebrities but even from ordinary men and women.

I know some people who want to try Proactiv products but are intimidated by the price -- they don't mind spending a bit more than they usually do if the product is effective but will feel terrible if they don't get any positive result. There's a money-back guarantee though, so there's less risk of paying for something that won't work for your skin.

Proactiv currently has a promo for its clients residing in the Philippines. You can get a 50-60% discount on your Proactiv add-on if you buy your Proactiv kit through the Proactiv Online Shopping Cart until December 31, 2012. You get 50% discount on the add-on if you buy the 30-day kit while you get 60% discount on the add-on if you buy the 60-day kit.

Proactiv discount promo

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Ritter Sport Strawberry Yogurt Chocolate

I'm a big fan of Ritter Sport chocolates. Here in the Philippines, Ritter Sport is not a big a chocolate brand as Hershey's or Cadbury so I was able to introduce the brand to some of my friends.

When bf went to Subic recently, he saw the strawberry yogurt variety in Duty-Free. Since this variety is not available in the supermarkets we frequent, he bought one for me to try.

Ritter Sport Strawberry Yogurt

I like strawberry-flavored food, yogurt, and chocolate but unfortunately, I didn't like this one much. It tasted okay but didn't appeal to me. The strawberry yogurt filling drowned the taste of the chocolate. I'm sticking to Ritter Sport's dark, milky, and nutty varieties.


Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Buffalo's Wings N' Things @ Sgt. Esguerra, Quezon City

Note: This branch is now closed. You can now find BWNT at SM North City Annex.

Craving for some buffalo wings, we dropped by Buffalo's Wings n' Things (BWNT) at Sgt. Esguerra in Quezon City for two consecutive Saturdays.

Buffalo's Wings n' Things wall graffiti


Taste

We got to try their Beef Burrito, Chicken Quesadilla, Dirty Rice, Classic Twin Hotdogs, and of course buffalo wings! We ordered three kinds of wings: Garlic Parmesan, The Rookie, and New York's Finest.

Buffalo's Wings n' Things twin hotdogs classic
twin hotdogs (classic)

Saturday, June 30, 2012

Piss Poor Landline Service I've Been Getting from PLDT Since Last Year

PLDT landline
When it comes to service problems, it has been my experience that the megacorporations are the ones which are most frustrating to deal with. With small businesses, you can find the owner and complain directly and the owner usually addresses your concerns as quick as possible. With megacorporations, the big fish are always out hobnobbing with fellow millionaires (and billionaires), with no way for us mere mortals to contact them. All we get to talk to are grunts who don't really care about complaining customers because 1) we're just one of the many many complainants they talk to every day and 2) we can just go screw ourselves and transfer to their competitors because they will still get paid and new subscribers will take our place. In short, they don't care about losing our business.

PLDT is one such company. And this is a long rant.

When we transferred to a new apartment building last year, I applied for a new PLDT landline service. I had been a subscriber for years and although our previous landline phone occasionally had no dial tone, the PLDT branch was just a five-minute walk from our house and having the problem fixed was easy. As for the bills, I was never behind in paying them.

Monday, June 25, 2012

San Marino Tuna Embutido Makes Me Think of Soylent Green

I love San Marino Corned Tuna. It is a staple here at home. Whenever we feel like having rice but don't feel like cooking, that's what we have as viand.

Because of my fondness for that particular canned good, my well-meaning housemate bought a can of San Marino Tuna Embutido for us to try. We just finished dinner and I must say that tuna embutido is very inspirational. Even if I wasn't planning on posting any review today, I was deeply inspired to write one.

San Marino Tuna Embutido

Shi Lin @ The Podium

I had been hearing a lot of good buzz about Shi Lin (their xiao long bao in particular) so we decided to check out their branch at The Podium. We took the MRT and walked the rest of the way to the mall so we were starving by the time we got there.

facade of Shi Lin at The Podium


Taste

We ordered the Hot and Sour Soup as appetizer, Mushroom and Vegetable Dumplings, Shrimp and Pork Shaomai, Xiao Long Bao, a plate of rice, Passion Berry Iced Tea and Tropical Plumberry Iced Tea to wash them all down, and Red Bean Dumplings for dessert.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Longganisa Sorpresa @ SM North

Everytime I pass by Longganisa Sorpresa in SM North, I chuckle a little. I find the resto's name quite humorous.

I must admit -- I'm not a longganisa fan, mainly because I don't eat fat. I don't mind eating fatty food but I can't eat the actual fat. Many of the longganisa I had tried before had lots of fat bits. This alienated me from longganisa.

However, I got intrigued when Longganisa Sorpresa launched an offer via Metrodeal. Knowing that there were many kinds of longganisa available, I decided to buy a voucher and try out their food.

For P240, the buyer would get the Longganisa Platter and four cups of Garlic Rice (all worth P480).


Taste

When the server handed me the menu and asked me to choose 5 kinds of longganisa, I got a little overwhelmed. I didn't know there were so many kinds to choose from.

Basically there are two groups of longganisa: recado and hamonado. Recado is a mix of salty, garlicky, sour, and peppery types. In this group are longganisa from Alaminos, Baguio, Cabanatuan, Calumpit, Laoag, Lucban, Tuguegarao, and Vigan. Hamonado consists of sweet and smoked ones from Cabanatuan (Batutay), Cagayan de Oro, Cebu, Davao, General Santos, and Pampanga.

Knowing little about the different kinds, I asked the server to choose for me and to choose the ones with minimal fatty bits. She readily agreed and within a few minutes our platter arrived. According to the server, our platter consisted of Calumpit, Vigan, Cabanatuan, Batutay, and Alaminos longganisa.

Longganisa Sorpresa Longganisa Platter
Longganisa Platter - P360 (reg price)

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Bake & Churn's Dome Ice Cream Cakes

I love cakes. I love ice creams. Sometimes it's hard to choose between the two, so what better solution than to have an ice cream cake? Off we went to Bake and Churn in SM City North EDSA Annex and got two dome ice cream cakes: Mango Madness for me, Rocky Road for bf. Each cake was 8" in diameter and cost P530.

The cakes were housed in a special box that was supposed to keep them from melting for up to 3 hours (even 4 hours, according to Bake & Churn's Facebook page). I clarified that with the girl manning Bake and Churn's stall, just in case there was a separate container that we needed to buy to maintain the cake's form as long as possible.

Bake & Churn said the ice cream cake would not melt within four hours
the ice cream won't melt up to at least 4 hours

Bake and Churn ice cream cake box
the special box

From SM North, it took me 20-30mins to get home. I excitedly unboxed my cake. Aside from a slight imperfection of the icing design at the base of the cake, the cake was beautiful.

Bake and Churn mango madness ice cream cake
Mango Madness ice cream cake

Sunday, June 17, 2012

The Works Bistro @ Tomas Morato

We dropped by The Works Bistro in Tomas Morato for a quick dinner.


Taste

We ordered a rice dish and a pasta dish, but since the rice dish was not available that time, we changed our order to The Works Pizza 10" (P325) and Zesty Mojos (P185).

They serve milkshakes. Who can say no to milkshakes? So we also ordered a Chocohazelnut Milkshake (P110) and a Strawberry Milkshake (P110).

The Works Bistro chocolate milkshake and strawberry milkshake
Chocohazelnut Milkshake and Strawberry Milkshake

The milkshakes arrived first. Chocolate and strawberry syrups were drizzled along the sides of the respective glasses to form a simple design. Both milkshakes were good.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Sample Affidavit: My Cleverbuy Affidavit

Click here for updates about Cleverbuy or CleverTravel.
Click here to see all posts related to Cleverbuy or CleverTravel.

Several commenters have asked about the format of an affidavit or a sample affidavit so I decided to post mine. I haven't submitted this to the NBI or even notarized. I drafted this affidavit then had it looked over by a lawyer friend.

This is just a sample. You can add more info, especially if you've attempted to contact Cleverbuy or the merchant before writing your affidavit.

Some notes:
  • According to my lawyer friend, the rows should be 1.5-spaced (you know, that thing between being single-spaced and doubled-spaced). I'm not sure how strict the NBI or our local courts are about the format of the affidavit since I saw other notarized affidavits last Friday which looked simpler (no numbers, not much legalese terms, etc).
  • You have to present a valid ID when having the affidavit notarized. A community tax certificate (cedula) is not enough anymore.

*****


Republic of the Philippines}  s.s
City of Manila

AFFIDAVIT
I,  (my name), Filipino citizen, of legal age, single, and a resident of (complete address), after having been duly sworn in accordance with law, hereby depose and say:

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Latest Updates About Cleverbuy / CleverTravel

Just to recap the events since May:
  1. J2 Discount Travel and Tours closed down. Cleverbuy said they would take care of the refunds. Some complainants were able to get post-dated checks.
  2. May 29 - Cleverbuy stopped issuing post-dated checks and only issued promissory notes. A meeting with Cleverbuy was scheduled at NBI on June 1, 2012.
  3. May 30 - Cleverbuy suddenly closed their office as well due to threats, verbal abuse, and a few cases of vandalism and theft received from their angry clients. The closure would be temporary according to them. Communication with them was soon cut off however (no response on their Facebook page, invalid contact numbers, etc).
  4. Anonymous tips and various information from former Cleverbuy employees began surfacing.
  5. June 1 - The meeting at NBI's Anti-Fraud Division was reset to June 8, 2012.
  6. June 5 - The bank account used by Cleverbuy to issue their checks was closed. DTI encouraged complainants to go direct to NBI since this matter had become a criminal case.

A few days ago, I heard from an ex-Cleverbuy employee that the company's CEO Christian Bayer denied being the owner of Cleverbuy. That was certainly odd -- Cleverbuy's SEC registration could disprove his denial. Even in the official statement Cleverbuy issued last May 3, 2012, Bayer was named as the CEO. This denial sent my mind whirring and I began to consider the possibility that Cleverbuy was a scam from the beginning (unknown to their Filipino staff) and Garcia was being used as a fall guy by Bayer (just in case someone needs to go to jail to pacify the angry mob) while Bayer runs away.


What happened during the NBI meeting on June 8, 2012...

Monday, June 4, 2012

Unhelpful, Argumentative Guard at BDO SM Megamall

We were at SM Megamall near closing time last Saturday night and decided to withdraw some funds from the ATMs near National Bookstore.

They were both vacant that time so I used the right one while bf used the left one. I encountered no problem and finished my transaction. The left ATM, however, was taking a long time to cough up bf's money and was beeping continuously. As bf continued to wait for the money, I snuck a quick peek inside the BDO branch a meter or two away from the machines since the door was closed but the blinders were up. I'd seen bank branches that still had employees inside even past banking hours; I was sort of hoping that perhaps someone from BDO could help us.

ATMs at BDO Megamall

Apparently, the bank guard heard the machine's continuous beeping and opened the door. We told him that the machine did not eject money but according to the ATM's receipt, the money was deducted from bf's account. Instead of helping us in any way, the guard lectured us that the machine's beeping meant that the money was already in the slot. He said that if the money was not taken from the slot immediately, it would be swallowed up by the ATM again. He then went back inside the bank.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

If You Still Have an Unclaimed Cleverbuy Voucher, Read This!

This post's contents and comments have become so long and hard to read. I'm closing off comments for this post. You can find the newer updates about Cleverbuy (esp about the NBI meeting last June 8) here:

Latest Updates About Cleverbuy / CleverTravel


*****

I am pissed off right now. If you have an unclaimed voucher from Cleverbuy or CleverTravel, then you should be too. Why?

Cleverbuy is now closed!

I received a comment at my previous Cleverbuy post last May 18, detailing the company's very poor customer service. I got worried because I also have an unclaimed travel voucher that I bought from Cleverbuy, but I didn't panic since I had encountered problems with vouchers bought from other sites before (so I was sort of a veteran) and I was planning to use my voucher at the latter half of this year (I thought the problem would go away once the busy summer season ended).

Cleverbuy CleverTravel scam

A few days afterwards, I got links from Promoblogger and Everything in Budget and learned that after lying to several customers about booking their flights and accommodations, J2 Discount Travel and Tours had shut down and that Cleverbuy would be handling the refunds for the botched travel deals. J2 Travel and Cleverbuy occupied the same building and many people believed that they were sister companies.

  • Cleverbuy's office: Unit B 4F Marvin Plaza Bldg. 2153 Don Chino Roces Ave., Brgy. Pio Del Pilar, Makati City 1230
  • J2 Travel's office: 7F Marvin Plaza Bldg. 2153 Chino Roces Avenue, Brgy. Pio Del Pilar, Makati City

Cleverbuy apparently issued an official statement and denied any ties with J2, but that link (as well as the whole Cleverbuy blogspot blog) has been deleted. I hope someone was able to screen capture that statement. It might prove valuable in court.

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Mexicali Restaurant @ Trinoma Mall

I love Mexicali, so even if our experience in their SM San Lazaro branch was not very pleasant, I couldn't stay away for long.

I was badly craving for a burrito that day. We were in Trinoma and I thought we had to go to SM North The Block just to get some Mexicali love but when we checked the mall directory, we were delighted to know that there was already a Mexicali branch in Trinoma.

Finding the resto was a bit of a challenge for us since it was small and nestled in the cinema section. We hadn't watched any movie in Trinoma yet so we weren't familiar with that area and didn't know there were restaurants located there.

Taste

We ordered Grilled Steak Burrito (Regular Size), Ground Beef Burrito (California Size), Sopa de Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Bowl, Chili Dog, and Chili Cup.

I have tried their different burritos but I keep coming back to Ground Beef Burrito. That and Cheese Enchilada are my favorite Mexicali food. Mexicali's burritos come in three sizes: Junior, Regular, and California. I usually order the regular sized burrito (which I found in the past to be more than enough to satisfy me) but that day, I was famished and overwhelmed with craving so I decided to try the California one (patay gutom mode).

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Meet Manila's Tertulia Night for #ThoughtfulTourism at Adarna Food and Culture Restaurant

I remember when I was a kid, people back then mostly relied on TV and friends for information about tourist destinations. Nowadays, thanks to the Internet and social media, one can readily access a wealth of information about our local destinations. There are tons of awe-inspiring images of these places thanks to photographers and travel bloggers, and it's not just about Mount Mayon, Chocolate Hills, Banawe Rice Terraces or other "household names" anymore. You can go as near or as far as you want within the country and still find an amazing place. It is very encouraging that nowadays, our enthusiasm for our country's attractions is very much heartfelt. It's as if every travel photograph has a caption saying "This is paradise" and the seen/unseen photographer screaming "Ang ganda rito!!!" Pinoy pride indeed.

Meet Manila Launch Party: A Tertulia Night for #ThoughtfulTourism
pic from Meet Manila FB page
Local tourism is certainly a cause I can get behind. So when I was invited to the launch party of Meet Manila, I was happy. Meet Manila is a new and comprehensive Philippine travel portal which aims to promote our provinces and top tourist destinations as well as the very catchy mindset called #ThoughtfulTourism. #ThoughtfulTourism is not just tourism for the sake of attracting tourists but also involves educating and helping people to uplift small communities, conserve and ethically use our wildlife and natural resources, and promote far-flung provinces.

The event gathered together online travel groups and companies, bloggers, government officials, and other groups and individuals passionate about Philippine tourism. The party's theme was Tertulia Night - a social gathering that focuses on art and literature and that has evolved from being a regularly scheduled public event in the Spanish tradition to a celebration through poetry, song, arts, and dances. Optional but recommended attire was modern Filipiniana.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Ala Eh! Bulalo (Muñoz) and the Tiny Cockroach

Ala Eh! Bulalo in Munoz, Quezon City is a fastfood restaurant that serves Filipino food. It is located at the foot of the overpass near Waltermart North EDSA.

Taste

We ordered their good-for-two combo which consisted of Pork Sisig, Bulalo, Pancit Lucban, rice, drinks, and dessert. Being a fastfood joint, the food wasn't as tasty as the ones in more expensive restos but was good enough to satisfy our craving for sisig and bulalo that day. The food was hot and quick to arrive.

Ala Eh! Bulalo sisig
pork sisig
Ala Eh! Bulalo bulalo soup
bulalo
Ala Eh! Bulalo Pancit Lucban Habhab
pancit Lucban
Ala Eh! Bulalo leche flan
leche flan

In our second visit, they ran out of pork sisig so I ordered Beef Steak Sisig instead. Bf ordered Bulalo GLP. I was contented with my sisig but bf did not like his bulalo GLP. According to him, the tripe (tuwalya) included in the soup was very tough and probably not so fresh.

Repost.Us

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...